How to Remove the Remember Me Option from Your WordPress Login

112

Earlier on WPBeginner we showed you how to keep WordPress from forgetting you with Always Remember me. This allows you to stay logged in to your WordPress site. However, there are a lot of people who access their WordPress site using public networks and computers. The remember me option below the login form sets a cookie which keeps you logged in for two weeks. This could be a potential security risk for people who are accessing their WordPress admin area from public computers. In this article, we will show you how to remove the remember me option from your WordPress login page.

Video Tutorial

Subscribe to WPBeginner

If you don’t like the video or need more instructions, then continue reading.

First thing you need to do is install and activate the Remember Me Not plugin for WordPress. Upon activation, the plugin completely removes the remember me check box from the WordPress login page.

Removing remember me checkbox from WordPress login page

Using Remember Me Not will force you and all registered users of your site to sign in each time they want to start a new session in WordPress admin area. They can save the username and password in their browser’s storage, but they can not set the remember me option to stay logged in for two weeks. We would also like to advise that whenever you are accessing your WordPress admin area from a public computer or network, simply make a habit to log out when you are done working on your website.

We hope that this article helped you remove the remember me option from your WordPress login. Would you ever use this on your site? Let us know in the comments below.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com